Uncharted

_20150408_102728Nell Chandler

After Ali and Ellie and I brainstormed many suggestions of titles for our featured artist show Ali finally came up with Uncharted.

We could all relate to that title because they both had children that are getting ready to fly the nest and  I knew I had some uncharted territory of my own. I knew there were techniques I have long wanted to try with my jewelry.

I’d always wanted to try to work with colored pencils on metal and had just never found the time. This was the  perfect time. But I found the medium tedious as I applied layer after layer to achieve the depth I wanted to achieve. Plus the colors that I am normally drawn to wouldn’t show up on the metal as well as the colors that are not a part of my regular palette. I tried the gesso ground technique and contemplated the acrylic spray in between each layer but the gesso was just like white paper and I knew the acrylic spray would  eventually end up as gunk.

So I ended up scratching the surface with a stylist to created a rough surface for the prisma color to adhere to. It still took layers and layers but I got some satisfaction. I eventually accented it with a rapidograph (technical pen) and a white paint pen.

In the middle of this process, when I was getting discouraged, I was talking with a friend. I said how I had all these designs in my sketch book back when designs were just flowing out of me when my children were young that I never had a chance to make. We decided that that too was uncharted territory. So I fabricated a very linear group that has just been sitting on the pages of my sketchbook for years.

 

Leave a Reply

