Reflections

Evelyn Ward

I make salt fired pots and add hand-drawn decals to them. Salt firing is a process in which regular salt is put into the kiln at the top temperature. The salt travels with the flame and adheres to the pots making a distinctive clear mottled glaze on the surface of the pots. Each pot is a little different depending on its location in the kiln.

I make my decals by starting with a drawing and then scanning it into the computer and printing it out on special decal paper. The iron in the toner leaves an image when the pot is refired to a lower temperature than the first glaze firing. I like the interplay between the very controlled surface of the decal and the less controlled surface of the salt firing.

For this show I focused on more delicate drawings than usual. Until recently, the drawings I’ve used have been high contrast ensuring the decals would show up after they were fired. But this spring I experimented with pencil drawings and I was very happy with the resulting images. I was able to see all of the gray tones even after they were fired. So with that in mind I did some new drawings with that softer more delicate feel. I love drawing botanical subjects, I spend a lot of time in my garden and on frequent walks with my dogs and am always amazed at how diverse plant life is. Almost every time I go out I find that some new plant will catch my eye.

 

To follow our Blog please hit the FOLLOW button at top of page.

 

To receive Hillsborough Gallery of Arts Newsletter please complete the form below with your name and email address.

Please visit our website

Leave a Reply

