Dreaming in Color

Lolette Guthrie

_The Color Of Summer

I am a landscape painter. I work largely from memory so my paintings are reflections on what I experienced at a particular time in a particular place. They are also always paintings of light and atmosphere as I continually strive to capture the ephemeral nature of the light remembered. I begin each piece with a general idea of time and place and then let the painting tell me where and how far to go. It is as though I am observing a conversation between the brush and the paint on the canvas and as a result I am never sure what the end result will be because at some point each piece takes on a life of its own and I just follow along. Long interest in composition, color relationships and the importance of the edges of a piece has led to increasingly spare landscapes and abstracted landscapes.

Skyfire

For “Dreaming In Color” I concentrated on exploring the use of color, especially in the sky, in such a way that it would almost alone give the viewer a sense of space, light, time of day, temperature, and weather. In most pieces the foreground is the accent note. I have also included two abstracted landscapes based on the geography of Ocracoke Island as it sits just below Hatteras Island between the Pamlico Sound and the Atlantic Ocean. They are explorations of the rich summer colors found in the sea and sky and the sound.

To follow our Blog please hit the FOLLOW button at top of page.

To receive Hillsborough Gallery of Arts Newsletter please complete the form below with your name and email address.

Please visit our website

ART from shows

Leave a Reply

