Parallel Play

Evelyn Ward

Most of the work for this show is a continuation of my current work, salt fired functional pottery. Some of the pieces incorporate the photo decals I’ve been working with the last couple of years. I make the decals from my own photographs of botanical subjects, usually plants I encounter on morning walk. The resulting images are sepia toned and hopefully they invoke a quiet mood.
I did branch out a little for this show and made some earthenware wall pieces. I normally salt fire and these are fired in the electric kiln at a lower temperature.  I had an idea that the different type of firing would result in a brighter image and I was right. I really enjoyed constructing the boxes and thought of the group as a whole, although I also wanted them to hold their own.
Leave a Reply

